Guangzhou Xiaopeng Motors Technology Co., Ltd. logo

XPeng: Exploring innovative paths for automotive supply chain carbon footprint management

In the global context, climate change has become an undeniable challenge, with the automotive industry being one of the major sources of carbon emissions. Therefore, the imperative for its green transformation is evident. Against this backdrop, Carbon Newture and XPeng have forged a partnership for green and low-carbon supply chain development. Together, they will explore and implement innovative approaches to managing carbon footprints in the automotive supply chain, aiming to establish a green and low-carbon ecosystem.

Automotive Manufacturing

Guangzhou Xiaopeng Motors Technology Co., Ltd.

The green transformation journey of XPeng

XPeng has consistently adhered to the concept of green development in the wave of green transformation in the automotive industry, striving to reduce carbon emissions throughout the entire lifecycle of its vehicles. According to XPeng's "2023 Environmental, Social, and Governance Report", in 2023, the carbon emissions of XPeng vehicle models throughout their lifecycle were 26% lower on average compared to similar types of gasoline vehicles. Compared to traditional gasoline cars, XPeng's electric vehicles produced over 1.5 million tons of CO2 emissions reductions throughout their lifecycle in 2023.

It is worth noting that in 2023, MSCI upgraded XPeng's ESG rating from "AA" to the highest level of "AAA", indicating that XPeng has been highly recognized by international authoritative institutions for its ESG governance level and sustainable development capabilities.

The new quality productivity itself is green productivity, and building a green and low-carbon supply chain contributes to the development of green productivity. XPeng actively takes various measures throughout the entire chain in product design, material selection, production manufacturing, logistics transportation, and resource recycling to ensure the environmental friendliness of raw materials and components, actively building a green and low-carbon supply chain.

As a leading new energy vehicle company, XPeng is committed not only to reducing the carbon emissions throughout the entire lifecycle of its vehicles but also actively empowering its supply chain partners to undergo green and low-carbon transformation. Together, they are driving the sustainable development of the entire automotive industry chain.

Exploring innovative paths for green and low-carbon transformation in the automotive supply chain

A standard automobile may contain up to 30,000 parts[1], and luxury models may have even more components. In the green and low-carbon transformation of the automotive supply chain, tracing the carbon emissions of multiple upstream suppliers is crucial. Lead companies need to comprehensively trace and manage the carbon footprint of all component suppliers, including their upstream suppliers. However, this process is fraught with challenges. It involves complex tasks of collecting and analyzing carbon footprint data from numerous suppliers across multiple tiers, while ensuring the accuracy and security of the carbon data.

In light of this, Carbon Newture and XPeng will join forces to efficiently manage the multi-tiered and cross-domain carbon footprints of suppliers, enhancing communication and collaboration among various links in the supply chain. As a benchmark green and low-carbon service platform, Carbon Newture offers both parties more possibilities for cooperation in carbon footprint accounting and supply chain carbon footprint management.

In the future, both parties will continue to leverage their technological and resource advantages to jointly promote the green and low-carbon transformation of the automotive supply chain.

join digital journey background image

Join us on the Dual Carbon digitalization journey now!

广州小鹏汽车科技有限公司 logo

小鹏汽车:探索汽车供应链碳足迹管理的创新路径

在全球范围内,气候变化已成为不容忽视的挑战,汽车行业作为碳排放的主要来源之一,其绿色转型迫在眉睫。在此背景下,碳衡科技与小鹏汽车达成供应链绿色低碳发展合作,双方将共同探索和实践汽车供应链碳足迹管理的创新路径,打造绿色低碳的汽车供应链。

汽车制造业

广州小鹏汽车科技有限公司

小鹏汽车的绿色转型之路

小鹏汽车在汽车行业的绿色转型浪潮中,始终坚持绿色发展理念,致力于减少汽车全生命周期的碳排放。据小鹏汽车《2023年环境、社会及管治报告》,2023年小鹏汽车车型全生命周期的碳排放相比同类型的燃油车平均低26%。相较传统汽油车,小鹏生产的电动汽车全生命周期减排二氧化碳逾150万吨

值得一提的是,2023年,MSCI将小鹏汽车的ESG评级结果由“AA”级上调至最高级别“AAA”级,这表明小鹏汽车在ESG治理水平和可持续发展能力上均获国际权威机构的高度认可。

新质生产力本身就是绿色生产力,而打造绿色低碳供应链有助于发展绿色生产力。小鹏汽车通过在产品设计、原材料选择、生产制造、物流运输及资源回收全链条中积极采取各项措施,确保原材料、零部件的环境友好性,积极打造绿色低碳供应链。

作为一家领先的新能源汽车企业,小鹏汽车不仅致力于减少汽车全生命周期的碳排放,更积极赋能供应链合作伙伴进行绿色低碳转型,与之共同推动整个汽车产业链的可持续发展。

共探汽车供应链绿色低碳转型创新路径

一辆标准汽车可能包含3万个零件[1],而且高端车型的零件数量可能更多。在汽车供应链的绿色低碳转型过程中,深入追溯至供应链上游多级供应商的碳排放至关重要。链主企业需要对所有零部件供应商,乃至这些零部件供应商的上游供应商进行碳足迹的全面追踪和管理然而,这一过程充满挑战。因为它不仅面临对大量、多层级供应商碳足迹数据进行搜集与分析的复杂挑战,还需要面对确保碳数据准确性、安全性的额外挑战。

基于此,碳衡科技与小鹏汽车将携手共探高效管理多层次、跨领域的供应商碳足迹,加强供应链各环节之间企业的沟通与协同。作为标杆型绿色低碳服务平台,碳衡科技为双方在碳足迹核算、供应链碳足迹管理等方面的合作提供了更多可能性。

未来,双方将继续充分发挥自身技术和资源优势,共同推进汽车供应链绿色低碳转型。

join digital journey background image

即刻开启企业「双碳数字化」之旅